The 2015 New Testament Challenge

New Testament Challenge

Beginning Nov. 15th (that is, in just 3 weeks from yesterday, at the beginning of the Advent/Nativity Fast), we will once again be embarking on our annual challenge event to read through the entire New Testament (aloud) by Christmas!

Some of our loyal readers are well into the Old Testament Challenge almost half way through! What madness is this, adding another intense reading challenge to our already heavy burdens? Perish the thought. I have no expectations that someone reading the entire Old Testament in 100 days would add this to their daily readings. 

For those of you who are not taking the Old Testament Challenge, and who have been gently reminding me that it is time, have no fear. Here it is.

This is a great endeavor and exercise and you should join it! Read with your spouse as an Advent discipline! Even children can do this, and they have. You can do it, too. Join the many of us who do this every year and prosper your soul in the effort. You won’t be the same.

Remember, we begin Nov. 15th!

The New Testament Challenge is kind of a tradition. We invite you to join us in this 40 day offering and make more time for the reading of Holy Scripture this Advent.

The 2015 New Testament Challenge

DAY

DATE

READINGS

1

Sun. Nov. 15

Matthew 1-7

2

Mon. Nov. 16

Matthew 8-12 

3

Tues. Nov. 17

Matthew 13-18 

4

Wed. Nov. 18

Matthew 19-24

5

Thurs. Nov. 19

Matthew 25-28

6

Fri. Nov. 20

Acts 1:1 – 4:37

7

Sat. Nov. 21

 Sabbath: Rest up or Catch Up

8

Sun. Nov. 22

Lord’s Day: Rest up or Catch Up

9

Mon. Nov. 23

Acts 5:1 -15:41

10

Tues. Nov. 24

Acts 16:1 – 28:31

11

Wed. Nov. 25

Mark 1:1 – 11:33

12

Thurs. Nov. 26

Thanksgiving Day: Rest Up or Catch Up

13

Fri. Nov. 27

Thanksgiving Wknd: Rest Up or Catch Up

14

Sat. Nov. 28

Sabbath: Rest up or Catch Up

15

Sun. Nov. 29

Lord’s Day: Rest up or Catch Up  

16

Mon. Nov. 30

Mark 12:1 – 16:20

17

Tues. Dec. 1

James, 1-2 Peter

18

Wed. Dec. 2

Galatians, Ephesians

19

Thurs. Dec. 3

1,2 Thessalonians

20

Fri. Dec. 4

1-2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon

21

Sat. Dec. 5

Sabbath: Rest up or Catch Up

22

Sun. Dec. 6

Lord’s Day: Rest up or Catch Up

23

Mon. Dec. 7

1 Corinthians 1:1 – 11:34

24

Tues. Dec. 8

1 Corinthians 12:1 – 2 Corinthians

25

Wed. Dec. 9

Romans 1-8

26

Thurs. Dec. 10

Romans 9-16

27

Fri. Dec. 11

Luke 1-7

28

Sat. Dec. 12

Sabbath: Rest up or Catch Up

29

Sun. Dec. 13

Lord’s Day: Rest up or Catch Up

30

Mon. Dec. 14

Luke 8-16

31

Tues. Dec. 15

Luke 17-20

32

Wed. Dec. 16

Philippians, Colossians

33

Thurs. Dec. 17

1,2,3 John, Jude, Hebrews

34

Fri. Dec. 18

John 1-11

35

Sat. Dec. 19

Sabbath: Rest up or Catch Up

36

Sun. Dec. 20

Lord’s Day: Rest up or Catch Up

37

Mon. Dec. 21

 John 12-21

38

Tues. Dec. 22

Revelation 1 – 8

39

Wed. Dec. 23

Revelation 9-16

40

Thurs. Dec. 24

Revelation 17 – 22

 

RELATED  AAA: Reading the Bible the Orthodox Way

 

About Fr. John A. Peck

Director of the Preachers Institute, priest in the Orthodox Church in America, award-winning graphic designer and media consultant, and non-profit administrator.
Blog; Facebook;Twitter